The Iron Man

Mrs K’s reading group have been reading ‘The Iron Man’ by Ted Hughes. It starts with a giant iron man who falls off a cliff and breaks into pieces. The pieces go back to shore and rebuild the Iron Man. He came back and started eating the farmer’s machinery, so the farmers tried to catch him and bury him in a big hole. In Spring he escaped because the ground was soft, and Hogarth took him to the scrap metal yard to eat all the old iron. A space-bat-angel-dragon landed on Australia and threatened Earth that if they didn’t feed him, he would eat them all up. So Hogarth needed the Iron Man’s help. Iron Man had a plan to defeat the monster – but we won’t spoil the surprise by telling you here! We are really enjoying this story!

the_iron_man

About Ms Salmon

I am a teacher in NSW, Australia. I use this blog for my students each year, and for collecting games, videos, images etc. for use with those classes.

1 Comment

  1. Hey clevercookies!
    Hey I love the story that miss kloses group
    read!Even though I havent read!
    I would love to read the book !

    See you later!