Hink Pinks

In homework this week, you’ll find some ‘Hink Pinks’ – pairs of rhyming words with a funny definition. For example, a sale on food might be a ‘meal deal’. Want some more? Try these:

  1. Rip in a teddy?
  2. Keeps a cat’s paws warm?
  3. Huge hog?
  4. Large branch?
  5. Fast choice?
1. rip in a teddy 1. _____________ _____________
2. keeps a cat’s paws warm 2. _____________ _____________
3. huge hog 3. _____________ _____________
4. large branch 4. _____________ _____________
5. fast choice 5. _____________ _____________

Even better, can you come up with some of your own? To do that, first think of the pair of rhyming words, then write the clue to figure it out.

About Ms Salmon

I am a teacher in NSW, Australia. I use this blog for my students each year, and for collecting games, videos, images etc. for use with those classes.

8 Comments

  1. I know the answers.Here are the answers.

    Rip in a teddy? Tear Bear
    Keep a cat’s paw warm? Mitten Kitten
    Huge hog? Big Pig
    Large branch? Thick Stick
    Fast choice? Quick Pick

    Am I Right?

  2. what you mean cindy

  3. 1. What is a rhyming word pair for loafing flower?
    2. What is a rhyming word pair for adorable bird?
    3. A rhyming word pair for large swine?
    4. What is a rhyming word pair for unhappy friend?

  4. I meant the answers to the hink pinks.

    Anyways why does your avatar keep changing?

    • Which avatar do you mean? Edublogs just randomly chooses an avatar for each post, from the ‘monsters’ collection that I picked as my favourite. I think that is unless you are registered as a user like I am, that’s why my avatar is that picture of cartoon me 🙂

  5. I think number 2 is sweet tweet.

    But usually you have to have an email or msn email to have a avatar. If you don’t you just get a normal picture. Depending what your email is. If it keeps changing then your just writing any email.

    • Well, Wendy has only been using one email address – but sometimes (sometimes a few times in a row, oops!) she accidently types it in wrong! Just like me typing with the wireless keyboard, I guess! Email addresses aren’t published for the world to see, so we can be careful about privacy rules. It shows up when I log in though, since I’m the teacher 🙂